A sign that this “millenial” is becoming boring?

I really hate being called a millenial. Or part of Generation Y. Why do we have to classify millions of people into one huge, sweeping statement and assume we are all the same, with the same motivations, aspirations and goals? The same disregard for anything traditional, secure, well thought out?

Hrrmph.

What I love being is a young person, although I was aghast when an article about young people and got me up in arms with the presumptions made, but then I realised I was not in the 18-25 “young” demographic any more. Balls to that I say, I’m young!

Anyway, I digress. I did one of those boring things that “millenials” aspire to, yet quite obviously can’t afford/want with their vagrant lifestyles and penchant for over-priced coffee. I bought a house!

Technically, I bought a house with one of my best friends, Amie. We got drunk, she said she wanted to buy a house, I said I wanted to too and we got the ball rolling. 8 months later we officially got the key to our new home. It was all so exciting, and so Generation X! And I LOVED it!

house.jpg

Our house! Note the amazing tarmac on the driveway that creates mini-lakes when it rains!

Don’t get me wrong, researching mortgages is dull. Life insurance? Jesus, I’m only 27. Reading reams of paperwork from our solicitor, trying to understand what any of it means. We also went through one abandoned purchase in those 8 months as the vendor hadn’t mentioned a history of subsidence  that we were too unwilling to take the risk on. And don’t get me started on the housing market in Bristol. “Oh, you like it? It’s best offers now after this 5 minute whirlwind look around please. We’ve got 24,251 people viewing today and the vendor will pick his favourite offer, I’m sure you understand”. Bore off. All of that was tedious, stressful and emotionally draining.

Many tears were spent in the journey of home ownership, but looking back they were so worth it. Yes, now I’m responsible for so many more bills, a mortgage is a scary thing, and if it breaks we have to fix it. But now the hundreds of pounds I spend a month in keeping a roof over my head is lower than renting, and it is benefiting me in the long run, not lacing some landlord’s pockets who benefited from the surge in population and lack of housing (baby boomers!). If it’s broke, I (attempt to) fix it. If we don’t like it, we can change it . It’s all very empowering!

Am I boring now? Yes, I can hold down a conversation about water meters, the best way to solve a problem shaped like an artex ceiling, or how to tile a bathroom (bathroom renovation blog post coming soon!). But I also am the same person I was before. I drink too much gin, I still book too many flights on a whim, I have an insatiable appetite for sport and pubs, I drink and dance to the small hours.

What’s the difference? At the end of the day, I go home to my house, to my bricks and mortar, to my overgrown garden, to my spiderman-themed bedroom. Boring home ownership? Hells yeah!

lisa sig

Leave a Reply

