Snap back to reality

“Oh there goes gravity…”

Wait, this blog post is detouring already (like my thoughts which are now streams of Eminem lyrics)! But, I am back after two wonderful weeks in Vietnam; country number 17 in my quest to visit 30 before I’m 30. I actually landed 6 days ago, but since then I’ve been recovering from the travel and sadly smashed straight back into work. So much so that it doesn’t feel like just a week ago I was in Saigon enjoying my last evening in Vietnam!

It’s frustrating how quickly “real life” can erode the feelings of relaxation, contentment and peace which come from two weeks of travelling. The usual work stresses return, the climate you are in changes back, and you realise your time is no longer 100% your own.

The good news is, that you get to relive that holiday, once you get past the mountain of washing! You get to wax lyrical about the scenery, the food, the people. You get to share photos and anecdotes. You get to give people a small taste of your journey by sharing the gifts you purchased.

Holidays become nostalgia all too quickly in the fast-paced world we live in. But they are totally worth it.

My mission this weekend (along with catching up on real life admin) is to curate the photos from my camera, and to write the first installment describing my journey through Vietnam. In the meantime, here’s a couple of pictures from my phone to tide you over and summarise my trip. Enjoy!

lisa sig

2 thoughts on “Snap back to reality

  1. Lisa! I am so cross with you, I saw an email and got all excited to read about Vietnam, I sat down with a cup of tea, and bam! I GOT THIS??! It’s lovely, but hurry up now please, I’ve waited long enough and I want to hear about countries I can’t visit for a while. Thanking you in advance!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

