Tough travel decisions

No matter how long you are travelling for there is never enough time to do it all. We all live our lives that are made up of a finite number of years, weeks, days, hours, minutes. In my opinion this is never more apparent that when planning a holiday where you plan to travel.

I’ve got just two weeks in Vietnam at the end of May. Two weeks. Nowhere near enough time and I knew that when I booked. But, I don’t have the luxury of taking more time off work to experience a longer trip. So two weeks is the limit. And it really is a restraint! There’s so many places I want to go that I know we don’t have time for, so many things I’ll miss out on during this visit: Sapa, Phong Nha-Ke Bang, Ca May, Mui Ne…

I’m going to Vietnam with my friend Esther. So far we’ve got a rough plan and have booked our hotel for when we arrive in Hanoi as well as a rather luxurious and expensive Ha Long Bay cruise!

So, the vague plan so far is Hanoi followed by the Ha Long Bay cruise, back to Hanoi, down to Hue, and then a few days in Hoi An. From Hoi An we want to go to Dalat directly, but it seems that the only way is via Nha Trang, which we weren’t too fussed about trying to squeeze in. Dalat is a must visit for us to do some canyoning and exploring of the area. From Dalat we’ll then head to HCMC for the last couple of days before flying back to London.

Phew. Even writing it down so succinctly I realise how much we’re trying to fit in, but I’m so excited! I cannot wait to get over there and immerse myself in the colours, food, culture and people.

As Esther and I continue to flesh out our plans a bit more, there’s other things to be getting on with. We decided to get our visas in advance so I’m sending off the forms and my passport to the Embassy of Vietnam tomorrow. There’s something really nerve wracking about this process; I don’t know if its because I don’t trust Royal Mail not to lose my passport or because I don’t trust the embassy not to find something wrong with my application!

I’ve also got an appointment booked with a nurse to check that my vaccinations are up to date. And I need a bag! I borrowed my housemate’s for Glastonbury last year and I could probably borrow it again, but I think I should have my own.

Lots of little bits of planning, but I’m relishing it all. Has anyone got any tips for our jam-packed Vietnam trip? If so I’d love to hear from you!

image

4 thoughts on “Tough travel decisions

  1. Hey sounds like you have a lot to do! We did Hanoi – Halong Bay – Hoi An – Dalat – Ho Chi Minh in about 15 days. We also got our visas through myvietnamvisa.com – mainly because we were already out in Asia but also because it was slightly cheaper!
    I think if we had more time, we would have done Sapa, Hue and the Mekong Delta. I also recommend doing the famous bike ride from Hue to Hoi An (something else we regret not doing!). Canyoning in Dalat is a must (amazing!) and the war remnants museum in HCMC is worth a visit. Sleeper buses are the best way to travel on a budget. Let me know if you want any more tips or hostel recommendations! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hey Stephanie! Thanks for your comment! I feel we’re trying to squeeze a bit too much in, but if so we can change our plans when we’re there! I wanted to et the visa upon arrival but my friend already got hers from the embassy. Β£62 though which seems crazy compared to what I’ve been reading about! Got that bike ride in the schedule already and I look forward to some warm canyoning; the only time I did it was in cold Alpine water in Slovenia! Thanks for your offer; did you have any particularly good hostel experiences?

      Like

      • We stayed in a hostel called Dalat Smile in Dalat which was awesome. We booked canyoning through them for only 25 dollars US and every night they do some kind of local food experience. One night they took us to this hidden barbecue restaurant where all the menus were in Vietnamese so you would never have found it otherwise! We got to try ostrich and crocodile! We stayed in Sunflower Hotel in Hoi an which had a good atmosphere and a pool. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it wherever you stay πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

