The Cauliflower Chronicles: Part 2

I’m off on a mini-holiday in a couple of days and so I need to eat my perishables before I leave. One of which was a cauliflower. Now I’ve previously posted about my distaste for the bland, often overcooked and lowly cauliflower. But I’m determined to keep giving it a chance, as I do with most foods I think I don’t like. It’s quite successful so far!

Yesterday I cooked a meal as if I were on Ready, Steady, Cook; a pile of ingredients that I had to make into something delicious without any plan at all! And I declare the experiment an astounding success; so much so that this meal is likely to become a staple of mine! 

Cauliflower, sweet potatoes, feta, spinach, peppers. A very decent list of core ingredients which screamed at me to be made into a warm, filling vegetable bake. I started by roasting the peppers to add to softened onion, garlic, stock and feta, and blend into a tasty sauce. Slicing the sweet potato and the dreaded cauliflower (which disintegrates and gets everywhere!) was the final stage of  preparation.

I layered the ingredients in a baking dish with spinach and baby plum tomatoes on top, into the oven it went. And oh my was it delicious! The feta and pepper sauce was full of creamy flavour and absolutely complimented the cauliflower and sweet potato. I served the vegetable bake with trout fillets seasoned with dill; again, an excellent combination. If like me, you find cauliflower is often uninspiring then I suggest you try this recipe. It is simple to make, wholesome and incredibly tasty! And I think its relatively healthy..?

Cauliflower and sweet potato baked in a roasted pepper and feta sauce (serves 4 as a side dish)

  • 1 large cauliflower head, sliced into 0.5cm slices
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 0.5cm slices
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 white onion, chopped finely
  • 2 red peppers, roughly cut
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped finely
  • 200ml stock (vegetable or chicken)
  • 200g feta cheese (I used reduced fat)
  • 8-10 cherry or baby plum tomatoes
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  1. Arrange the peppers on a baking tray and drizzle with oil. Roast in an oven pre-heated to 200°C for approximately 20 minutes until starting to brown.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a saucepan. Add garlic and onion and saute over a low heat until soft (approximately 5-10 minutes).
  3. Roughly chop the peppers and add to the onion mix. Add the stock and mix. Use a blender to combine all ingredients into a smooth sauce, season to taste and set aside.
  4. In a deep baking dish, arrange a layer of spinach. Top with a layer of cauliflower and then layer of sweet potato.
  5. Pour half of the the sauce over the cauliflower and sweet potato layers.
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5.
  7. Decorate with baby tomatoes and a few spinach leaves. Add 100ml water over the bake to help with cooking the vegetables.
  8. Bake in the oven at 200°C for 30 minutes until brown on top. Serve

If you give the recipe a go please let me know if you enjoy it as much as I did!

lisa sig

Leave a Reply

